Cool Kathryn Bryce leads Scotland to first Women’s T20 World Cup qualification

Scotland celebrate T20 World Cup Qualification
Scotland celebrate T20 World Cup Qualification

A world-class display from Kathryn Bryce was the catalyst of Scotland’s history-making victory over Ireland to qualify for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup later in the year.

Bryce claimed 4/8 (4) and made an unbeaten 35 to lead the Scots to an eight-wicket win, ensuring her side’s first ever appearance at the tournament.

Ireland won the toss and elected to bat though Bryce proved unplayable in the Powerplay, sending back the dangerous opening pair of Amy Hunter and Gaby Lewis.

Orla Prendergast was run out in the third over for 11, before Bryce struck another blow in her third over, bowling Laura Delany for two as Ireland fell to 21/4.

Bryce struck with another wicket bowling her four overs unbroken at the tope, dismissing Eimear Richardson for one.

Arlene Kelly and Leah Paul pulled things back in the second half of the innings, putting on 60, though the score 110/9 at the end of the 20 overs meant the Scots still sat in the driver’s seat.

Megan McColl began with a bang for Scotland in the run-chase, racing to 25 from 23 balls in the Powerplay as the side raced to 41/0. Kelly with the ball claimed the wicket of Saskia Horley, though Bryce stepped in with McColl to continue Scotland’s charger.

McColl was only dismissed after raising her bat, as Sarah Bryce joined her sister to finish the job.

Later in the day, UAE came agonisingly close to joining the Scots as Associate T20 World Cup qualifiers, eventually edged by tournament favourites Sri Lanka.

UAE were ahead of their more-fancied opposition for most of the chase, with Esha Oza’s 66 (44) threatening the boilover victory. Despite her six-hitting exploits at one end though, and the side 104/2 in the 15th over, the Emiratis ran out of puff. A teammate was unable to back Oza in the death overs, as Sri Lanka’s experienced bowling corps kept their calm in a 15-run win.

The T20 World Cup will be held in Bangladesh from October 3 to October 20.

You’re reading Emerging Cricket — brought to you by a passionate group of volunteers with a vision for cricket to be a truly global sport, and a mission to inspire passion to grow the game.

Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, please subscribe for regular updates, and follow EC on TwitterFacebookLinkedIn and YouTube.

Don’t know where to start? Check out our features listcountry profiles, and subscribe to our podcast. Support us from US$2 a month — and get exclusive benefits, by becoming an EC Patron.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

three − one =