Dansk Cricket Forbund


High stakes as European Cricket League beckons

A number of clubs will battle it out for ECL qualifcation this weekend, as seasons conclude across Europe.

Skanderborg win Elite Division in Net Run Rate Thriller

Skanderborg Cricket Club has claimed the Danish Elite Division title after a dramatic final day. Despite starting the...

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Challenge League A postponed again

After already having been pushed from its original dates in March the second of three ICC Men's Cricket World Cup Challenge A...

Nordic Cup cancelled as Finland withdraws

Finland and Germany have each withdrawn their national teams from the planned T20I tri-series against Denmark. The 7-match series, titled the ‘Nordic...

Are Irish pastures calling?

Sometimes, as Fred Klokker said when he floated the idea on Emerging Cricket’s recent podcast, inspiration comes from nowhere in the middle...

Netherlands announce men’s internationals against Denmark, Scotland

Koninklijke Nederlandse Cricket Bond (KNCB) has announced* provisional men’s international fixtures against Denmark and Scotland. The fixtures are the Netherlands' first to...

Denmark to host Germany and Finland in T20I tri-series

Denmark will host Germany and Finland in a T20I tri-series from the 25th to the 28th of August. The fixtures represent the...

Denmark’s Klokker calls for greater European opportunities in Irish First-Class cricket

Danish international player and high-performance coach Freddie Klokker has suggested the inclusion of a European XI in the Irish Interprovincial Championship, Ireland’s...

CWC Challenge League A – points table, schedule, previews & match reports

Canada, Denmark, Malaysia, Qatar, Singapore and Vanuatu played the first of three round robin CWC Challenge League A events in Malaysia from...

Match reports: CWC Challenge League A, Days 7 & 8

Canada 302 for 8 (Wijeyeratne 84, Ravinderpal 43, Hald 2-60, Henriksen 1-27) beat Denmark 172 (Zameer 60, Hamid 52, Dutta 3-38, Saad Bin...

Canada v Singapore | Qatar v Vanuatu live streams – CWC Challenge League A, Round 1, Malaysia Final Day

Canada v Singapore blockbuster last day action - can Canada go undefeated or will Singapore draw level at the top of Group...

Match reports: CWC Challenge League A, Days 5 & 6

For all your Challenge League A info including standings, stats and streaming links go to our event home page.




DBU Established
(DCF 1953)




AS AT AUG 2020


The origins of Danish cricket go back to the nineteenth century and the first visit by an MCC team was in 1925, but Denmark’s entry to the international stage really came in 1955, when they met the Netherlands for the first time in a two-day match.

One of the earliest countries to become an ICC Associate member, Denmark played in every ICC Trophy tournament from 1979 to 2005, and also qualified for the World Cup Qualifier in 2009.

The first (and so far only) turf square in the country was laid in 1999.

Starting in Division 2 of the World Cricket League, the Danes have most played in Division 4, but now take part in the World Cup Challenge League. Women’s cricket prospered in the 1980s and 1990s, but disappeared for a time in the new millennium, reviving in recent years, when a Danish women’s team has again played in international tournaments.


First men’s international matches:
vs Oxford University, Hjørring, 1954
vs Netherlands, The Hague, 1955

Major international victories:
vs. The Netherlands, Copenhagen, 1972 (friendly)
vs. Bangladesh, Kings Heath, 1979 (ICC Trophy)
vs. Bangladesh, Colwall, 1986 (ICC Trophy)
vs. Kenya, Al Amarat, Muscat, 2018 (World Cricket League Division 3)

Leading men’s international players: Carsten Morild (1952-79), Sven Morild (1953-64), Henrik Mortensen (1959 – 1978), Ole Mortensen (1977-93), Thomas Hansen (1996-2009), Carsten Pedersen (1996-2014), Amjad Khan (2001-12), Fred Klokker (2001-), Hamid Shah (2013- ).

League formats: 50 overs; T20 Cup

WCL History: Division 2 2007 (4); WCQ 2009 (8); Division 3 2011 (5); Division 4 2012 (4); 2014 (3); 2016 (3); 2018 (2); Division 3 2018 (5)

CWC Leagues: Challenge League A (19-21)

World Cup appearances: 0 (1998 U19 WC)


First women’s international match: vs. Netherlands Women, Utrecht, 25 July 1983

Leading women’s international players: Janni Jonsson (1987-99), Susanne Neilsen (1989-99).

World Cup appearances: 1993, 1997

Principal Grounds

Svanholm Park, Brøndby Strand

Peter Bangs Vej, Frederiksberg

Solvangsparken, Glostrup

Birkevej, Skanderborg

Ishøj Idrætsventer, Ishøj

DCF Links

Originally compiled by

Rod Lyall

Latest EC Podcasts

Latest articles

Taichung Warriors win the 15th Taiwan Annual Cricket Cup

Taichung Warriors and the Taiwan Stars compete for the 15th Taiwan Annual Cricket Cup in Chiayi City on the 18th October 2020....

Italy: Kings XI, Brescia Vie for double honours

Kings XI CC and Brescia CC will contest both of Italy’s cup finals this weekend. Both teams have successfully qualified for the...

Vanuatu to host high performance T10 competition

Vanuatu Cricket has announced that it will host a new high performance domestic T10 tournament. This tournament will aim to build on...

USA name Kevin Darlington and Mujtaba as Youth Coaches

USA Cricket has announced the appointment of Kevin Darlington as Men's Youth Coach and Asia Mujtaba as Women's Youth Coach.

Support EC

Follow us



Sign up for weekly updates.