Cricket Association of Nepal


EC Nepal Correspondent

New head coach Dav Whatmore arrives in Nepal

Dav Whatmore, the World Cup-winning coach for Sri Lanka in 1996 and the recently appointed Nepal men's national cricket team Head Coach has arrived...

Preview: PM Cup Nepal Men’s National Cricket Tournament

The Prime Minister’s Cup (PM Cup) Nepal Men’s National Cricket Tournament organised by the Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) will see ten teams in...

PM Cup an opportunity for women’s cricket in Nepal

The recent PM Cup Women's National Cricket tournament is a positive development for women's cricket in Nepal. ‘Province Number One’ beat defending champions Armed...

‘Province One’ crowned champions of Nepal’s PM Cup Women’s National Cricket Tournament

Province One clinched the Nepal PM Cup Women's National Cricket Tournament title beating the defending champions Armed Police Force (APF) by six runs in...

A tale of passion and determination: Abinash Bohara; Nepal’s death over specialist

Nepal cricket has so many stories to offer to world cricket. One is the story of a 23-year-old Nepalese medium-pacer, who is now widely...

Nepal: Lumbini Province and APF remain unbeaten, secure their spot at PM Cup semis

The Lumbini Province, eyeing to continue their victory march from Day 1, played against the Karnali Province in the first match of Sunday's PM...

Nepal: APF records largest victory in PM Cup Women’s National Cricket Tournament

The Prime Minister's Cup Women's National Cricket Tournament commenced on Saturday at Lamahi Ground, in the Dang district of Nepal. It is the first...

Nepal’s Kushal Malla, Karan KC and Sompal Kami to feature in Abu Dhabi T10 League

Kushal Malla, the 16-year-old prodigy from Nepal, who holds the record for being the youngest cricketer to score an ODI half century is all...

Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 revised qualification pathway schedule announced

Following the postponement of 20 series due to the effects of the ongoing global pandemic, the ICC has announced the rescheduled qualification pathway for...

World Cup winning coach, Dav Whatmore appointed Nepal head coach

Dav Whatmore, the World Cup-winning coach of Sri Lanka in 1996, has been appointed as the new head coach of the Nepal men's team....

From ‘naughty child’ to a decade of national representation – Nepal’s Karuna Bhandari

While women's cricket around the world is strongly marching forward and receiving well-deserved recognition, the Nepal women's cricket team is waiting for that final...

Cricket Association of Nepal says ‘No’ to age restrictions in PM Cup

Earlier on the 8th of February, Kushal Malla, a young Nepali prodigy became the youngest batsman in the world to score an ODI half-century....




Body Established




AS AT SEP 2020


When discussing forces in the emerging game, few can question Nepal’s giant status. Unquestionably the most followed Associate nation, millions tune in to witness their heroes in action no matter the timezone.

Despite attempts to introduce the game in the 1800s, cricket first took hold in the 1920s, albeit limited to members of the Rana dynasty and other elites in the country. First formed in 1946, the Cricket Association of Nepal promoted cricket across the elite, though after the country’s 1951 revolution, it began its spread through the general public.

CAN joined the country’s National Sports in 1961, and by 1980, cricket had spread to all corners of the country. Domestic tournaments like the Jay Trophy allowed individual talent to blossom, and in 1996, Nepal made its international debut at the ACC Trophy.

Nepal was a mainstay of the World Cricket League system and slowly rose through the divisions, culminating with a runners-up finish to UAE in WCL2 2018. They progressed to the 2018 Cricket World Cup Qualifier, defeating Hong Kong to finish fourth in Group B on net run rate, and pitting them with PNG in a playoff match to determine who would hold ODI status. Nepal chased down the target of 115 in 23 overs. In 2018, the Nepalis won their first ODI on tour in the Netherlands by just one run, successfully defending 216.

Nepal’s challenges on the field, including a failure to progress from regional T20 World Cup Qualifying last year, have been compounded by internal issues off it, with the ICC suspending CAN in 2016 for government interference. As the global body ran operations and hired its own staff to oversee operations, Nepal’s funding was discontinued, stagnating domestic cricket and halting several structural developments as a result.

Filling the void, entrepreneurs, sponsors and even the fans picked up the slack, pumping money into the Nepali game, as T20 franchise leagues and fan groups popped up before CAN’s reinstatement in October 2019. Now, with multiple franchise leagues attracting foreign stars despite consistent domestic play, especially in the longer formats, co-operation between league owners and the new board will determine Nepal’s progress on the international stage. On the women’s side, an international debut didn’t come until 2007, though the new Champions League is one of few Associate franchise leagues around the world, and promises to nurture future international talent.

Outside of typical cricket clubs, talent academies are popping up around the country, with the board estimating over 100 in the country. These academies operate outside CAN’s jurisdiction, and cater for cricketers of all ages.

District level competitions are held across 20 grounds around the country, with tournaments held for both men and women at under-16s, under-19s and senior level.


First men’s international match: vs. Bangladesh, Kuala Lumpur, ACC Trophy, 1996

Major international victories:
vs. USA, Kathmandu, WCL5, 2010
vs. Uganda, Kuala Lumpur, WCL4, 2014
vs. Hong Kong, Chattogram, 2014, World T20 (T20I debut)
vs. Afghanistan, Chattogram, 2014, World T20
vs. Canada, Windhoek (Wanderers), WCL2, 2018
vs. Netherlands, Amsterdam (VRA), 2018 (First ODI victory)
vs. Papua New Guinea, Harare, World Cup Qualifier, 2018

Leading men’s international players: Mehboob Alam (2000-2015), Shakti Gauchan (2002-2018), Paras Khadka (2004-Present), Basanta Regmi (2006-2018), Sompal Kami (2013-Present), Karan KC (2014-Present), Sandeep Lamichhane (2016-Present)

League formats: Various regional/national 50 over and 20 over comps + T20 franchise leagues

World Cricket League history: Division 5 2008 (3rd), Division 5 2010 (Champions), Division 4 2010 (3rd), Division 4 2012 (Champions), Division 3 2013 (Champions), 2014 Division 3 (Champions), 2015 Division 2 (4th), 2015-17 Championship (7th), 2018 Division 2 (Runners-Up)

World Cup appearances: 2014 (T20WC, Group Stage)


First women’s international match: 2007 vs. Thailand, Kuala Lumpur (Asian Cricket Council Women’s tournament)

Leading women’s international players: Rubina Belbashi (2009-Present), Sita Magar (2007-Present), Kabita Kunwar (2018-Present), Kajal Shrestha (2018-Present), Nary Thapa (2007-Present)
World Cup appearances: N/A

Principal Grounds

Tribhuvan University Ground, Kirtipur (Kathmandu - crowd photo above)
Pokhara Stadium Complex, Pokhara (picture)
Mulpani Upper Ground, Mulpani
Siddhartha Stadium, Rupendehi

CAN Links

Originally compiled by

Daniel Beswick

Latest EC Podcasts

Latest articles

Support EC

Follow us



Sign up for weekly updates.