Nitish Kumar to train with Leeward Island Hurricanes

Isaac Lockett talks to Nitish Kumar after joining up with the Leeward Island Hurricanes training squad.

Nitish Kumar Signs for the Leeward Island Hurricanes (Graphic: Sportslab Management)

Canadian international Nitish Kumar has been invited by West Indies regional side Leeward Islands Hurricanes to join their training camp for the CG Insurance Regional Super50. Previously, Emerging Cricket had reported on the Canadian men’s national team not taking part in the tournament, but in the form of Kumar and fellow compatriot Nicholas Kirton there will be a Canadian national team presence at the tournament.

Nitish Kumar Signs for the Leeward Island Hurricanes (Graphic: Sportslab Management)

Talking about joining the squad, Kumar stated ‘I am very excited to join the squad for the Super50. I have also been a huge fan of the tournament, coming down numerous times with Canada and the Americas. It’s been a great competitive environment to test and showcase your skills.’

Kumar explains, ‘we have started training, and I believe the camp is until Feb [February] 6th as the tournament starts on the 7th.’ With the tournament participation reverting to the six major West Indian franchises, this year’s tournament will see only the Jamaica Scorpions, Barbados Pride, Guyana Jaguars, Trinidad and Tobago Redforce, and the Windward Island Volcanoes compete in Antigua until the 27th of February.

Kumar told Emerging Cricket that ‘I believe the Regional Super50 tournament is a very competitive tournament. It’s a great competition to test your skills against Test players and it would be great to get a chance to represent Leeward Islands during this Super50. It would be my first professional tournament in over 12 months due to COVID-19. But for now, having had a year of just T20 cricket, my focus is on having a good training camp and getting back into the 50 over mindset.’

Despite the Leeward islands not announcing their squads yet, the Guyana Jaguars, Jamaica Scorpions and Barbados Pride squads have all been announced. 

Guyana Jaguars Squad:

Chandrapaul Hemraj, Trevon Griffith, Christopher Barnwell, Leon Johnson (Captain), Shimron Hetmyer (Vice-captain), Assad Fudadin, Keon Joseph, Romario Shepherd, Kevin Sinclair, Ramaal Lewis, Nial Smith, Gudakesh Motie, Anthony Bramble, Akshaya Persaud and Tevin Imlach.

Barbados Pride Squad:

Jason Holder (captain), Joshua Bishop, Shamarh Brooks, Jonathan Carter, Roston Chase, Dominic Drakes, Jonathan Drakes, Justin Greaves, Keon Harding, Chemar Holder, Kyle Hope, Shai Hope, Akeem Jordan, Nicholas Kirton and Ashley Nurse.

Jamaica Scorpions Squad:

Rovman Powell (captain); Derval Green (V/ captain); Aldaine Thomas; Oshane Thomas; Brandon King; Paul Palmer; Fabian Allen; Jamie Merchant; Jeavor Royal; Odean Smith; Sheldon Cottrel; Dennis Bulli; Javelle Glenn; Romaine Morris; and Andre McCarthy.

Keep up with news and events happening in the emerging game through our Facebook and Twitter pages.

Looking for audio content on the emerging game? Add the Emerging Cricket Podcast to your favourites on AppleSpotify and Podbean.

Want extra Emerging Cricket content? Contribute to the Emerging Cricket Patreon cause from as little as $2 a month. Sign up here!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

15 − eleven =