Emirates Cricket Board announce men’s squad to face Ireland

Isaac Lockett reports on the announcement of the UAE side that is set to play Ireland in a four-match one-day international series.

The Emirates Cricket Board (ECB) has announced the squad that will be playing in the four-match One-Day International (ODI) series against Ireland. With an exciting combination of youth and experience, many who follow Associate cricket will be keen to see how the UAE team lines up against an impressive Irish squad.

Of particular interest is the inclusion of four debutants in the squad, namely former U-19 captain Aryan Lakra, Alishan Sharafu, Kashif Daud, and Adithya Shetty.

UAE men’s squad celebrating after a wicket (Photo: ICC)

UAE Squad

Ahmed Raza (C), Chirag Suri (VC), Rohan Mustafa, Muhammad Usman, Muhammad Boota, Zahoor Khan, Junaid Siddique, Waheed Ahmad, Zawar Farid, CP Rizwaan, Aryan Lakra, Karthik Meiyappan, Alishan Sharafu, Basil Hameed, Kashif Daud, Adithya Shetty and Vriitya Aravind

Series Information

The first match of the series takes place on 8th January 2021 with the remaining three games scheduled for the 10th, 12th and 14th. All four matches will be played at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi with the matches starting at 09:30 (UAE time, +4GMT). Fans will be able to stream the match across the globe through Emirates Cricket Board’s partnership with ITW Consulting.

Squad Reaction

Speaking about the squad, Dr. Tayeb Kamali, ECB Selection Committee Chairman said ‘our Board is very pleased to see such a diverse group of players selected to open Emirates Cricket’s 2021 international cricket season. Our intense selection process focused on identifying promising talent while bringing together passion and complementing experience that delivers under pressure. Each member has earned his place on the team and we have great expectations of each of them. We believe that this bilateral against an ICC Full Member will allow this group of seasoned, young and up-and-coming players to flourish and be challenged under what we expect will be an exciting series.’

‘We are also delighted to see four new young players in Aryan Lakra, Alishan Sharafu, Kashif Daud and Adithya Shetty named in this squad and wish them, as well as the rest of the team a successful and rewarding series,’ he continued.

You’re reading Emerging Cricket — brought to you by a passionate group of volunteers with a vision for cricket to be a truly global sport, and a mission to inspire passion to grow the game.

Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, please subscribe for regular updates, and follow EC on TwitterFacebookLinkedIn and YouTube.

Don’t know where to start? Check out our features listcountry profiles, and subscribe to our podcast.

Support us from US$2 a month — and get exclusive benefits, by becoming an EC Patron.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

4 + two =