Dutch women head to Thailand

Thailand will host their first ODIs since being granted ODI status when the Netherlands visit in November

A strong Dutch women’s team will travel to Thailand later this month to play four ODIs and four T20 Internationals against the Thai women at the Prem Tinsulanonda International School in Chiangmai.

The party of fifteen women includes five players who were in the Dutch squad seven years ago, the only previous time the side has visited Thailand; that was for a Women’s World T20 Cup qualifying tournament.

The tour will mark the return of captain Heather Siegers, who missed much of the 2022 season through injury, while the side’s batting will also be strengthened by the availability of Northern Diamonds’ Sterre Kalis.

Otherwise, the squad is largely unchanged from that which took on Ireland and the Fairbreak T20 side in the latter part of the Dutch summer.

The Thai squad also has a familiar look, with the addition of batter Suwanan Khiaoto the only change to the side which finished fourth in the Asia Women’s Cup in Sylhet last month.

The four ODIs will be Thailand’s first outing in the 50-over format since they, like the Netherlands, were given ODI status by the ICC earlier this year.

The two countries have previously met six times in T20 matches since 2013, all of them ending in victory for Thailand, so Heather Siegers’ side will be especially keen to end that losing sequence.

Announcing the visit this week, Dutch national women’s coach Shane Deitz said that his team was extremely enthusiastic about the opportunity to take on one of the leading women’s sides in the world.

‘It will be a tough test for us,’ he added, ‘but we’re looking forward to it, because in sport you want the chance to measure your skills and your development against top opponents.’

The sides will start with the four ODIs, played on 20, 22, 24 and 26 November, to be followed by the T20Is on 29 and 30 November and 2 and 3 December.

The squads are:

Thailand: Naruemol Chaiwai (captain), Nattaya Boochatham, Nanthita Boonsukham, Natthakan Chantham, Onnicha Kamchomphu, Rosenanee Kanoh, Suwanan Khaiaoto, Nannapat Khoncharoenkai,  Suleeporn Laomi, Phannita Maya, Thipatcha Putthawong, Chanida Sutthiruang, Aphisara Suwanchonrathi and Sornnarin Tippoch.

The Netherlands:  Heather Siegers (Rood en Wit Haarlem, captain), Annemijn van Beuge (Voorburg), Gwen Bloemen (VRA Amsterdam), Sterre Kalis (Northern Diamonds), Hannah Landheer, Caroline de Lange (both Quick Haag), Babette de Leede, Eva Lynch (both Voorburg), Robyn van Oosterom (HBS Craeyenhout), Frédérique Overdijk, Robine Rijke (both Quick Haag), Silver Siegers (Rood en Wit), Annemijn Thomson (Quick Haag), Jolien van Vliet (Voorburg) and Iris Zwilling (Rood en Wit.

You’re reading Emerging Cricket — brought to you by a passionate group of volunteers with a vision for cricket to be a truly global sport, and a mission to inspire passion to grow the game.

Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, please subscribe for regular updates, and follow EC on TwitterFacebookLinkedIn and YouTube.

Don’t know where to start? Check out our features listcountry profiles, and subscribe to our podcast.

Support us from US$2 a month — and get exclusive benefits, by becoming an EC Patron.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

ten + nineteen =