Czech Republic announces Central European Cup

Czech Cricket

The Czech Republic has announced the staging of the annual Central European Cup between 24th and 27th September. Six teams will gather in Prague for the tournament, which will see 13 T20Is played across four days.

Joining the hosts are Austria, Malta, Hungary, Belgium and Luxembourg. The six teams will be split into two groups of three, with each team playing each opponent in their group. Group stage ranking will then determine the qualifying positions for a 7-match playoff, culminating in a final on Sunday afternoon. All matches will be played at the Scott Page Field and the Banks Field, Vinoř, Prague.

Austria enter the event as the top ranked side at 38th on the ICC rankings. Belgium, 47th, are next strongest on paper, recently defeating both Czech Republic (61st) and Luxembourg (63rd) in a tri-series. Hungary will play their first T20Is during the tournament.

This year’s Central European Cup marks the 7th running of the event; however this year’s edition is the first to hold full T20I status for all matches. Previous editions up to 2018 were 50 over matches, whilst the 2019 event involved two non-members, Switzerland and Latvia. Czech Republic are defending champions having defeated Hungary in the final of the 2019 edition.

Keep up with news and events happening in the emerging game through our Facebook and Twitter pages, as well as our calendar of events!

Looking for audio content on the emerging game? Add the Emerging Cricket Podcast to your favourites on AppleSpotify and Podbean.

Want extra Emerging Cricket content? Contribute to the Emerging Cricket Patreon cause from as little as $2 a month. Sign up here!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

3 × 1 =