USA name squad for 8-game CWCL2 home stand in Houston

Rahul Jariwala lifts bat after 100 in 2021 Men's National Championship

USA Cricket have announced their squad for their Cricket World Cup League Two homestand at Moosa Stadium in Pearland, Texas to begin at the end of May. 

Back in the team after being absent for two years, Cameron Stevenson brings his excellent 4.91 economy and 19.66 average with 12 wickets in six ODI innings into the squad. Together with Ali Khan, Rusty Theron, and Saurabh Netravalkar, USA looks like a potent, if top-heavy pace attack, since they seem to currently lack a true backup option for the flat batting surface of Moosa Stadium. 

With captain Monank Patel, vice captain Aaron Jones, lefties Gajanand Singh and Steven Taylor, and Sushant Modani, USA have many capable and talented veteran top order batsmen to choose from. 

Left arm orthodox spin is currently the most competitive role around the country, and veterans Nisarg Patel and Nosthugh Kenjige have shown selectors few reasons not to turn to them, though 20 year old Vatsal Vaghella, who took two wickets for 16 runs against Ireland in December, and fellow former USA U-19 22 year old Karthik Gattepalli have both proven themselves in Minor League Cricket, and are nipping at their heels. 

Also in the mix for the left arm orthodox all-rounder role are veteran Marty Kain, who has scored 50 runs at a 192.3 Strike Rate in his two international innings against Ireland in T20I play in December, and USA Cricket veteran Karima Gore, who recently was named the MVP of the Cool and Smooth T20 Explosion tournament, ahead of the likes of Scotland’s George Munsey, and West Indies internationals Rahkeem Cornwall and Hayden Walsh Jr. 

The squad also includes two teenagers, 19 year old Yasir Mohammad of New Jersey, and 17 year old Rahul Jariwala of California. The duo potentially represent a new normal in USA Cricket selection trends, as several cricketers under the age of 21 were also activated for the Ireland series in December. Yasir performed admirably in USA’s split T20I series with Ireland in December, and Jariwala was the leading run scorer in the 2021 Men’s National Championships in November in Houston. 

USA will face Scotland and UAE in their first four games, and Nepal and Oman in their final four games, in series from May 28 through June 15 at Moosa Stadium. Tickets are available only online

USA Squad

Monank Patel (Captain)

Aaron Jones (Vice-Captain)

Ali Khan

Cameron Stevenson

Gajanand Singh

Jaskaran Malhotra

Nisarg Patel

Nosthush Kenjige

Rahul Jariwala

Rusty Theron

Saurabh Netravalkar

Steven Taylor

Sushant Modani

Yasir Mohammed

You’re reading Emerging Cricket — brought to you by a passionate group of volunteers with a vision for cricket to be a truly global sport, and a mission to inspire passion to grow the game.

Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, please subscribe for regular updates, and follow EC on TwitterFacebookLinkedIn and YouTube.

Don’t know where to start? Check out our features listcountry profiles, and subscribe to our podcast.

Support us from US$2 a month — and get exclusive benefits, by becoming an EC Patron.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

twelve + 18 =