HomeEventsMen's T20 World CupT20 World Cup Squads - First Round

T20 World Cup Squads – First Round

Keep up to date with all the squads from the First Round of the T20 World Cup as they are released.


We’re just over a month away from the start of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, and the squads for the 16 teams are starting to trickle in.

Five Associate teams will turn out next month, all entering at the First Round stage via the 2019 World Cup Qualifier. Ireland, featuring in a global tournament for the first time as a Full Member, will also begin in the First Round, as well as Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, positioned by their ICC rankings.

Below are the announced T20 World Cup squad lists for First Round teams for the upcoming tournament, with the teams updated per each announcement.

- Advertisement -


Bangladesh are coming off home series victories against Australia and New Zealand, and are skippered by Mahmud Ullah, who led the way in their series-sealing victory against the Black Caps.

Mahmud Ullah (Captain), Naim Sheikh, Soumya Sarkar, Litton Kumer Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Shaif Uddin, Shamim Hossain

Reserves: Rubel Hossain, Aminul Islam Biplob


The Irish have named a provisional squad of 18 for the tournament, and will eventually cut down to 15 in a matter of weeks. Despite injury, Gareth Delany has been selected.

Provisional squad: Andrew Balbirnie (c), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Shane Getkate, Graham Kennedy, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Kevin O’Brien, Neil Rock, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young


The selection of former South African David Wiese stole headlines, though Namibia boast a strong squad of depth and overall quality. Despite the retirements of Zhivago Groenewald and JP Kotze, the Namibians cover all bases, and are by no means the fourth team of a stacked First Round Group A.

Squad: Gerhard Erasmus (c), Stephen Baard, Karl Birkenstock. Michau du Preez, Jan Frylinck, Zane Green, Nicol Lofie-Eaton, Bernard Scholtz, Ben Shikongo, JJ Smit, Ruben Trumpelmann, Michael van Lingen, David Wiese, Craig Williams, Picky Ya France

Reserves: Mauritius Ngupita

The Netherlands

One of the last to name their squads, the Netherlands have named 12 players from their successful campaign at the Qualifier, with Stephan Myburgh, Logan van Beek and Tim de Leede added from the 2019 campaign. Myburgh’s career renaissance adds depth to the top order, and pushes out Tobias Visee who only features as an injury reserve.

Squad: Pieter Seelaar (c), Colin Ackermann, Philippe Boissevain, Ben Cooper, Bas de Leede, Scott Edwards, Brandon Glover, Fred Klaassen, Stephan Myburgh, Max O’Dowd, Ryan Ten Doeschate, Logan van Beek, Timm van der Gugten, Roelof van der Merwe, Paul van Meekeren

Reserves: Shane Snater, Tobias Visee


Playing at home in the First Round, Oman have name eleven players from the World Cup Qualifier, with Aayan Khan and Nester Dhamba a couple of new faces to enter the squad. Kashyap Prajapati is still not eligible for the national team since moving to the country, while Jay Odedra has been left out.

Squad: Zeeshan Maqsood (c), Aqib Ilyas, Jatinder Singh, Khawar Ali, Mohammad Nadeem, Ayaan Khan, Suraj Kumar, Sandeep Goud, Nester Dhamba, Kaleemullah, Bilal Khan, Naseem Khushi, Sufyan Mehmood, Fayyaz Butt, Khurram Khan

Papua New Guinea

PNG were one of the first teams to name their T20 World Cup squad, and reached Oman at the beginning of September upon Cricket World Cup League 2 duties.

Carl Sandri and the coaching staff have named a similar squad to the Qualifier two years ago, with Riley Hekure the biggest omission from the group. The team is skippered by Assad Vala.

Squad: Assad Vala (c), Charles Amini, Lega Siaka, Norman Vanua, Nosaina Pokana, Kipling Doriga, Tony Ura, Hiri Hiri, Gaudi Toka, Sese Bau, Damien Ravu, Kabua Vagi-Morea, Simon Atai, Jason Kila, Chad Soper, Jack Gardner.


Kyle Coetzer (c), Richard Berrington (vc), Dylan Budge, Matthew Cross (wk), Josh Davey, Alasdair Evans, Chris Greaves, Oli Hairs, Michael Leask, Calum Macleod, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Chris Sole, Hamza Tahir, Craig Wallace (wk), Mark Watt, Brad Wheal

Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka are yet to submit a final squad for the World Cup despite a September 10 deadline, opting for a provisional announcement during their T20I against South Africa. Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis, and Danushka Gunathilaka are all omitted after the national board banned the trio for a year after breaking Covid protocols in England.

Likely Sri Lanka squad: Dasun Shanaka (capt.), Dhananjaya de Silva, Avishka Fernando, Charith Asalanka, Kamindu Mendis, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananjaya, Maheesh Theekshana, Binura Fernando, Praveen Jayawickrama

Likely reserves: Nuwan Pradeep, Pulina Tharanga, Lahiru Madushanka, Lahiru Kumara

You’re reading Emerging Cricket — brought to you by a passionate group of volunteers with a vision for cricket to be a truly global sport, and a mission to inspire passion to grow the game.

Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, please subscribe for regular updates, and follow EC on TwitterFacebookLinkedIn and YouTube.

Don’t know where to start? Check out our features listcountry profiles, and subscribe to our podcast.

Support us from US$2 a month — and get exclusive benefits, by becoming an EC Patron.

Daniel Beswick
One of our #ECPod hosts, Daniel has been a member of WBBL/BBL and Olympic productions at Channel 7, and has been a member of the stats department at Fox Sports Australia since November 2016, also supporting commentators and on-air talent for the network’s coverage. Daniel commentated action at World Cricket League 2, calling both USA vs PNG and Namibia vs Oman ODI matches on the same day.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

16 − two =

Latest EC Podcast

Latest articles

Support EC

Follow us



Sign up for weekly updates.