New men’s captain as Vanuatu announce squads for Australian Indigenous tour

Vanuatu captains Ronald Tari and Selina Solman

Ronald Tari has been named the new captain of the Vanuatu men’s team for the Australian Indigenous Cricket Tour, beginning on May 5. Selina Solman leads the women in a parallel series.

Tari takes over in the absence of regular skipper Patrick Matautaava, who has taken up a seasonal work contract in Australia alongside three other senior players: Andrew Mansale, vice-captain Junior Kaltapau and Apolinaire Stephen.

The historic tournament sees the Vanuatu Men’s and Women’s national teams face the Indigenous Australian sides for the first time on home soil, with the women’s team starting at 9am local time on Friday morning. Both series will be played in the T20 format, with teams playing four games each to decide the tours 2023 Champions.

Spin-bowling all-rounder Joshua Rasu will deputise Tari in the absence of Matautaava and Kaltapau, with the absent players expected to return for the East Asia-Pacific T20 World Cup Regional Qualifier in Papua New Guinea in late July.

In a boost for Vanuatu and the players on the work contracts, iComply, based in regional Queensland, will support their employees on their trip to Papua New Guinea. On top of payments while at the Qualifier, the players have also linked with a club for athletic training, and facilitated a A$5000 equipment donation.

All matches of the Australian Indigenous Tour will to be played at the Vanuatu Cricket Grounds, Port Vila and will be live streamed via the Vanuatu Cricket Facebook page from Saturday onwards.

Vanuatu Men’s Squad

Ronald Tari (Captain, North Efate Bushpigs), Joshua Rasu (Vice-Captain, Tusker Panthers), Jamal Vira (Paama Sharks), Nalin Nipiko (Ifira Blackbirds CC), Williamsing Nalisa (Tafea CC), Clement Tommy (Tafea CC), Kenny Tari (Tusker Panthers), Darren Wotu (Tafea CC), Womejo Wotu (Tafea CC), Curran Kendrick (Paama Sharks), Tony Tamata (Tusker Panthers), Jarryd Allan (Tusker Panthers), Simpson Obed (Mighty Saints), Godfrey Mangau (Tafea CC), Obed Yosef (Paama Sharks)

Vanuatu Women’s Squad:

Selina Solman (Captain, North Efate Bushpigs), Alvina Chilia (Vice-Captain, Splashe Mele Bulls), Nasimana Navaika (Tafea CC), Rachel Andrew (Ifira Blackbirds CC), Marcelina Mete (Splashe Mele Bulls), Maiylise Carlot (Mighty Saints CC), Netty Chilia (Splashe Mele Bulls), Leimauri Chilia (Splashe Mele Bulls), Mahlonie Vatoko (Splashe Mele Bulls), Leisau Jacob (Ifira BlackBird CC), Lissing Enock (Ifira Blackbird CC, Vicky Mansale (Splashe Mele Bulls), Therese Mansale (Splashe Mele Bulls), Tina Kalosin (North Efate Bushpigs), Ruth Kaltonga (Ifira Blackbirds CC), Rayline Ova (Splashe Mele Bulls)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

nineteen + four =