Malaysia announces squad for T20 international tri-series in Nepal


Malaysia has announced its squad for the upcoming T20 international tri-series involving hosts Nepal and the Netherlands.

Veteran top-order batsman Ahmed Faiz Bin Mohammad Nor retains the captaincy, whilst Virandeep Singh is vice-captain. Former captain Mohd Anwar bin Arudin will open the batting. The contributions of all three will be vital to Malaysia’s ability to put competitive totals on the board.

Talented all-rounder Syed Aziz Bin Syed Mubarak, and experienced wicketkeeper Mohd Shafiq bin Mohd Sharif will also be expected to contribute significantly with the bat. Mubarak and Shafiq have opened and operated as finishers in the middle order. Wherever they do bat, Malaysia will look to explosive hitting abilities for quick runs.

Virandeep Singh in action at the CWC Challenge League in September 2019 (photo: Malaysia Cricket)

Malaysia’s trio of left-arm spinners, Pavandeep Singh, Muhammad Anwar bin A Rahman, and Muhammad Fitri Bin Mohd Sham, will have an integral role to play in keeping Netherland and the hosts quiet on Kathmandu’s traditionally slow, low, turning decks. But Malaysia’s bowling fortunes also rest on the shoulders of quick bowlers, Dhivendran Mogan, left-armer Muhammad Wafiq Irfan bin Zarbani, Syazrul Ezat bin Idrus, and Mubarak.

Pakistan-born bowling all-rounder Khizar Hayat Durrani finds a place in the squad, as does middle-order batsman Aminuddin Ramly.

Commenting on the selection of the team, national coach Bilal Asad said, ‘This Malaysian side is a blend of players who are full of enthusiasm, with a hunger-to-win attitude and are determined to bring the nation to the next level.’

Dhivendran Mogan (left) and Ahmed Faiz (right) captain rival teams in the Malaysia T20 Super Series 2020 (photo: Malaysia Cricket)

Captain Faiz is similarly optimistic, also highlighting the rare opportunity to shine on foreign soil. ‘We are ready for the Tri Series¬†in Nepal. This is going to give us an opportunity to move up the ladder in the T20 ranking. The team and I are looking forward to excel outside of our Home Ground Kinrara Oval and to meeting Nepal and Netherlands,’ he said.

All in all, this is an experienced and battle-hardened Malaysian side that can be expected to compete against the best on its day. And after more than a year away from competitive international cricket, how any of the three teams come out swinging is anybody’s guess.

Full Squad: Ahmad Faiz Bin Mohammad Nor (c), Virandeep Singh (vc), Syed Aziz Bin Syed Mubarak, Sharvin a/l Muniandy, Mohd Anwar bin Arudin, Mohd Shafiq bin Mohd Sharif, Ainool Hafizs bin Md Yatim, Aminuddin Ramly, Muhammad Anwar bin A Rahman, Syazrul Ezat bin Idrus, Muhammad Wafiq Irfan bin Zarbani, Pavandeep Singh, Muhammad Fitri Bin Mohd Sham, Khizar Hayat Durrani Dhivendran a/l Mogan


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

19 + 12 =