Nepal Tri-Series series with Malaysia and the Netherlands announced

Nepal Tri-Series

The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has announced a T20I triangular series next month in Kathmandu.

Issuing a media release on Friday, CAN announced that the hosts will play the Netherlands and Malaysia at the Tribhuvan University Cricket Ground from April 17 to 24. 

The three participating Associate teams will be seen in action for the first time in an international series since the global outbreak of COVID-19, with the teams set to play a double round-robin series with the top two playing a final. The series is sponsored by Bajaj Pulsar.

The love and passion for the game among the Nepalese fans are unparalleled to any Associate nation, and after a year since ICC CWC League Two fixtures, the home fans will witness their beloved heroes play an international series at home after a tough COVID battle. The visiting teams have also exchanged their joy about the series in an announcement.

“Following the reduction in COVID cases and resumption in the domestic competitions since 2020, it is an ideal time to bring back International Cricket to Nepal. The spring weather also presents excellent conditions in Kathmandu”, the announcement reads. 

The Netherlands have named a young 14-man squad, with the tour providing key preparation for the T20 World Cup in India this October. Dutch players in County Cricket will not tour, with an opportunity for fringe talent to stake their claim for spots.

Dutch coach Ryan Campbell is excited to travel and face the challenges of an overseas tour.

“After not playing since November 2019, I am overjoyed at the announcement of the Tri Series in Nepal. The boys have worked so hard for over a year with so much uncertainty on when our next match will be.

“Playing Nepal and Malaysia in Nepal will present us with an extremely tough re-entry into World Cricket but it’s a challenge we are very much looking forward to.”

Netherlands Squad: Pieter Seelaar (c), Tobias Visee, Max O’Dowd, Ben Cooper, Bas de Leede, Vikramjit Singh, Scott Edwards, Philippe Boissevain, Paul van Meekeren, Vivian Kingma, Aryan Dutt, Sebastiaan Braat, Tony Staal, Julian de Mey

Stay tuned for Nepali and Malaysian squads as they come to hand on Emerging Cricket.

You’re reading Emerging Cricket — brought to you by a passionate group of volunteers with a vision for cricket to be a truly global sport, and a mission to inspire passion to grow the game.

Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, please subscribe for regular updates, and follow EC on TwitterFacebookLinkedIn and YouTube.

Don’t know where to start? Check out our features listcountry profiles, and subscribe to our podcast.

Support us from US$2 a month — and get exclusive benefits, by becoming an EC Patron.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

2 × one =