Hong Kong Women’s Premier League squads announced

Isaac Lockett reports on the latest announcement regarding the Hong Kong Women's Premier League which sees the squads announced.

Following the announcement of the new Women’s Premier League, Cricket Hong Kong have now released the names of the players that will be taking part. 

The new addition to Hong Kong’s domestic schedule will see two teams, comprising of the territory’s most exciting talents, playing three matches against each other. The tournament will see two 35 over games played and a forty over a side contest.

The Bauhinia Stars will be captained by the current Hong Kong women’s captain and opening batter Kary Chan and also boast former national team captain Connie Wong among their ranks. 

However, in the form of Pull-To and Jasmine Titmuss the Jade Jets have their own strong leadership group. Pull-To has played a lot of cricket for Hong Kong, whilst Titmuss brings experience from her time as part of ECB’s Women’s Development Squad, HKCC coach and is now also a Hong Kong international.

Fans of the Philippines cricket team will also be keeping a close eye on the tournament as Jennifer Alumbro plays for the Bauhinia Stars. Allumbro is part of the SSC Divas team which has been making waves in Hong Kong’s domestic league. The all-female team is completely composed of migrant domestic helpers from the Philippines. Despite a limited ability to train, the team’s passion and bond have seen them thrive and recently won back to back amateur tournaments despite only recently starting their cricketing journeys.     

The two teams will have recognised coaches in the form of Ghulam Saqlain who is the CHK Women’s Assistant Coach and Niaz Ali, the current director of cricket at Lantau CC.

Bauhinia Star’s squad:

Kary Chan (captain) – CCC Fung Wong, Connie Wong (vice-captain) – KCC Maidens, Shanzeen Shahzad – DLSWCC Wasps, Jenefer Davies – KCC Maidens ,Akasha Yousaf – DLSWCC Wasps ,Alison Siu – HKCC Willow Wielders, Amanda Cheung – HKCC Willow Wielders, Dorothea Chan – CCC Fung Wong ,Emma Lai – HKCC Willow Wielders, Jaswinder Kaur – DLSWCC Wasps, Jennifer Alumbro – SCC Divas, Maheen Haider – KCC Maidens, Maryam Bibi – DLSWCC Wasps, Mehreen Yousaf – DLSWCC Wasps, Ruchitha Venkatesh – HKCC Willow Wielders

Coach: Ghulam Saqlain

Jade Jets squad:

Pull To (captain) – CCC Fung Wong, Jasmine Titmuss (vice-captain) – HKCC Willow Wielders, Lemon Cheung – HKCC Willow Wielders, Sukhjit Gill – TBC, Annie Ho – CCC Fung Wong, Ashley Hung – HKCC Willow Wielders, Betty Chan – HKCC Willow Wielders, Chan Sau Ha – HKCC Willow Wielders, Iqra Sahar– DLSWCC Wasps, Keenu Gill – KCC Maidens, Mariko Hill – HKCC Willow Wielders, Rajvir Kaur– DLSWCC Wasps, Rida Haider – KCC Maidens, Roisin O’Connor – KCC Maidens, Tammy Chu – CCC Fung Wong

Coach: Niaz Ali

You’re reading Emerging Cricket — brought to you by a passionate group of volunteers with a vision for cricket to be a truly global sport, and a mission to inspire passion to grow the game.

Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, please subscribe for regular updates, and follow EC on TwitterFacebookLinkedIn and YouTube.

Don’t know where to start? Check out our features listcountry profiles, and subscribe to our podcast.

Support us from US$2 a month — and get exclusive benefits, by becoming an EC Patron.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

five × 3 =