Barcelona set for 16-team European Cricket Series Extravaganza

Barcelona is set to host the European Cricket Network’s biggest event to date. The Spanish city is the next stop for the European Cricket Series, the ECN’s travelling T10 Roadshow. Unlike previous events which have seen up to 25 T10 matches played over a week, the Barcelona edition will have 60 games played over three weeks.

Sixteen teams have been invited from Barcelona and the surrounding region of Catalonia. Among them are ECL 2019 semi-finalists Catalunya CC, as well a 2019 Liga Catalana runners-up Badalona Shaheen CC.

The tournament starts on Monday 12th October and will feature four T10 matches per day. Matches will be played on weekdays with the finals taking place on Friday 30th October. All matches will be played at Montjuic Cricket Ground, Barcelona and available to watch via YouTube, the FanCode app and the Emerging Cricket Facebook page.

The 16 teams are split into two groups of 8 and will play a single-round robin. The top two from each group will progress to the semi-finals. The semi-finals will be followed by a 3rd place playoff and final.

This leg of the European Cricket Series marks the largest event, in terms of number of teams, matches and days run by ECN since its inception. The 2020 running of the European Cricket League was set to feature 16 teams and 32 matches over 8 days, before it was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

You’re reading Emerging Cricket — brought to you by a passionate group of volunteers with a vision for cricket to be a truly global sport, and a mission to inspire passion to grow the game.

Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, please subscribe for regular updates, and follow EC on TwitterFacebookLinkedIn and YouTube.

Don’t know where to start? Check out our features listcountry profiles, and subscribe to our podcast.

Support us from US$2 a month — and get exclusive benefits, by becoming an EC Patron.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

three × 3 =