Associate Representative becomes interim ICC Chairperson after Manohar steps down

Deputy Chairman Imran Khwaja from Singapore will assume the position of Chairperson until a successor is elected.

ICC Chairman Shashank Manohar has stepped down after two, two-year tenures at its helm. The ICC Board met today and agreed that Deputy Chairman Imran Khwaja will assume the responsibilities of the Chairperson until a successor is elected.

Khawaja was elected as the first Deputy Chair of the ICC in 2017 after the position was created as a result of a raft of governance reforms.

Representing Singapore, and one of three Associate Member Directors on the ICC Board, Khawaja has also been reported as considering making a run for the top job.

The favourite for the position is the ECB’s Colin Graves, amongst a number of potential candidates which includes former Cricket West Indies President Dave Cameron who has called for a review of the financial model amongst other expansionist policies when interviewed about his potential bid for Chair.

The process for the Chairperson election is expected to be approved by the ICC Board within the next week.

ICC Chief Executive Manu Sawhney said: “On behalf of the ICC Board and staff and the whole cricket family, I would like to thank Shashank for his leadership and everything he has done for the sport as ICC Chairman. We wish him and his family all the very best for the future.”

Imran Khawaja (centre) becomes interim Chairperson (Photo: ICC)

ICC Deputy Chairman Imran Khwaja added: “Everyone on the ICC Board extends their wholehearted thanks to Shashank for the commitment he has shown to our sport. There is no doubt that cricket owes Shashank a debt of gratitude for all he has done for the sport. He has left cricket and the ICC in a better place than he found it.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

seventeen − 8 =