25 years on, Rwanda to host 4 team memorial women’s T20I event

Getting underway on Sunday all matches of the Kwibuka Peace Tournament will have full T20I status

(Updated 13 June after Kenya withdrew from the event due to lack of funds).

Between April and July in 1994 up to one million people were murdered during the Rwandan Civil War. The genocide had lasting and profound effects on Rwanda and neighbouring countries.

Established in 2014 the event is held as a remembrance for all the sportsmen/women who lost their lives during the genocide in 1994. Rwanda is using cricket to promote peace through the nation’s slogan of NEVER AGAIN. Kenya (who unfortunately pulled out of what would’ve been a five-team event overnight) has the strongest record in the annual tournament having won it three times (2018, 2017, 2015). Neighbouring Uganda won the inaugural edition and was also successful in 2016.

The sixth edition will have a record 5 nations – with all matches holding T20I status -with two newcomers in Mali and Tanzania, they will compete against Kenya, Uganda and hosts Rwanda. The tournament will run from June 16th to 23rd and all games will be played at the magnificent Gahanga Cricket Stadium.

Developed by charity “Cricket Builds Hope” Gahanga Cricket Stadium now hosts various domestic events and is now the home of Rwanda’s international matches including the recent men’s T20 World Cup Africa B Qualifier in July 2018

Uganda in the past has been sending a development side but with ICC ranking points on the line they have chosen to an experienced side with a few new faces. The Lady Cricket Cranes side has eight players who were part of the side that went to Zimbabwe for the World Cup Qualifiers in May this year with Rita Musamali named as Captain and she will be assisted by Immaculate Nakisuyi.

The team will be handled by Micheal Grace Ndiko and assisted by Ivan Kakande who just returned from a cricket apprentice in Sri Lanka.

All teams arrive on 16th June, a visit to the genocide memorial site is schedule for the 17th with the action slated to start on 18th.

Lady Cricket Cranes Squad to Rwanda

  1. Rita Musamali – Captain
  2. Immaculate Nakisuyi – Vice Captain
  3. Stephanie Nampiina
  4. Damalie Busingye
  5. Sarah Walaza
  6. Marie Kagoya Nyende
  7. Joyce Mary Apio
  8. Evelyn Anyipo
  9. Esther Ilukor
  10. Alako Proscovia
  11. Midred Anyingo
  12. Susan Kakai
  13. Gloria Obukor
  14. Christine Anayo

Coach – Micheal Grace Ndiko Assistant Coach – Ivan Kakande

Tournament Schedule TBC considering Kenya’s withdrawal but original draw below.

Date Time  
16/06/2019 Arrival of Teams
17/06/2019 Visit to Memorial
18/06/2019 09h30am Rwanda vs Mali
  13h50pm Tanzania vs Uganda
19/06/2019 09h30am Mali vs Tanzania 
  13h50pm Uganda vs Rwanda
20/06/2019 09h30am Uganda vs Mali
  13h50pm Rwanda vs Tanzania
21/06/2019 09h30am Rwanda vs Mali
  13h50pm Tanzania vs Uganda
22/06/2019 09h30am Mali vs Tanzania 
  13h50pm Uganda vs Rwanda
23/06/2019 09h30am Uganda vs Mali
  13h30pm Rwanda vs Tanzania

All matches at Gahanga Stadium


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

9 − 5 =