HomeEventsMen's T20 World CupWho is our T20 World Cup Qualifier MVP?

Who is our T20 World Cup Qualifier MVP?

After 51 matches at the T20 World Cup Qualifier, who was crowned Emerging Cricket's MVP?


Laced with defining individual performances, the T20 World Cup Qualifier again proved the quality among the top teams in the emerging game.

To determine the Emerging Cricket T20 World Cup Qualifier MVP, our match reporters were asked to award points to three difference-making players in each match. The player of the match received three points, with second and third players receiving two points and one points respectively.

As an indication of the quality among the players at the tournament, 93 players across the 14 teams polled points.

- Advertisement -

Despite being a perhaps controversial omission from our Team of the Tournament when he was beaten out by JJ Smit, Norman Vanua’s individual performances were enough to slingshot him to the top of the MVP leaderboard with Nitish Kumar, who polled nine points across three matches, coming in second.

MVP Leaderboard

Norman Vanua10
Nitish Kumar9
Jatinder Singh8
Roelof van der Merwe8
Paul van Meekeren7
Bernard Scholtz7
Kinchit Shah7
Mark Watt7
Gerhard Erasmus7
Ryan ten Doeschate7
Aamir Kaleem6
Collins Obuya6
Khawar Ali6
Rohan Mustafa6
JJ Smit6
Assad Vala6
Mark Adair6
Bilal Khan6
Brandon Glover6
Jan Frylinck5
Paul Stirling5
George Munsey5
Jonty Jenner4
Mohammad Usman4
Irfan Karim4
Sese Bau4
Timm van der Gugten4
Ben Cooper4
Richie Berrington4
Scott McKechnie4
Matthew Cross4
Andrew Balbirnie3
Ben Ward3
Calum MacLeod3
Craig Young3
Dhiren Gondaria3
Dillon Heyliger3
Gareth Delany3
Mohammad Ghazanfar3
Harry Carlyon3
Kevin O’Brien3
Navin Param3
Zawar Farid3
Zeeshan Maqsood3
Tony Ura3
Selladore Vijayakumar3
Rameez Shahzad3
Lucas Oluoch3
Damien Ravu3
Colin Ackermann3
Simi Singh3
Chimezie Onwuzulike2
Christi Viljoen2
Eliott Miles2
Hamza Tahir2
Janeiro Tucker2
Navneet Dhaliwal2
Niko Davin2
Nizakat Khan2
Pieter Seelaar2
Saad Bin Zafar2
Sesan Adedeji2
Aqib Ilyas2
Fayyaz Butt2
Elliot Miles2
Nasrulla Rana2
Waheed Ahmed2
Max O’Dowd2
Charles Amini 2
Emmanuel Bundi2
Kiplin Doriga2
Michael Leask2
Fred Klaassen2
Charles Amini2
Aaqib Illyas1
Ahmed Raza1
Aizaz Khan1
David Delany1
Delray Rawlins1
Janak Prakash1
Leke Oyede1
Nick Ferraby1
Okera Bascome1
Stephen Baard1
Surendran Chandramohan1
Norman Vanua 1
Chirag Suri1
Haroon Arshad1
Delray Rawlins 1
Craig Williams1
Elijah Otieno1
Alasdair Evans1
Nosaina Pokana1

Keep up with news and events from cricket’s new world on on Facebook and Twitter pages.

Looking for audio content on the emerging game? Add the Emerging Cricket Podcast to your favourites on AppleSpotify and Podbean.

Daniel Beswick
Daniel Beswick
One of our #ECPod hosts, Daniel has been a member of WBBL/BBL and Olympic productions at Channel 7, and has been a member of the stats department at Fox Sports Australia since November 2016, also supporting commentators and on-air talent for the network’s coverage. Daniel commentated action at World Cricket League 2, calling both USA vs PNG and Namibia vs Oman ODI matches on the same day.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

14 − two =

Latest EC Podcast

Latest articles

Support EC

Follow us



Sign up for weekly updates.