ECL adds Southern European Quartet to 2022 Roster


The European Cricket Network has announced that the domestic champion clubs of Malta and Cyprus will be entered into the 2022 European Cricket League (ECL). The European Cricket Network has signed long-term partnerships with the Malta Cricket Association and Cyprus Cricket Association to bring the Maltese and Cypriot champions to the ECL.

In an announcement on, ECL founder Dan Weston said “I am very excited to have the Malta Cricket Association join the European Cricket League for season 2022 and beyond.”

“By inviting the Champion club from Malta to compete in the ECL, it will boost cricket at domestic level, inspire cricketers new and old to the game and further energize the community of cricket fans in the country.

“From next season, every club in Malta has a pathway to compete to become the “Kings of European cricket”.”

Chairman of Malta Cricket Association, Dr. Indika Thilan Perera, said: “The Malta Cricket Association is delighted to enter into a partnership with the ECL which will considerably enhance the ongoing development process of cricket in Malta.

“The agreement will increase opportunities for clubs, players and umpires, and further boost the quality and awareness of Maltese cricket. We very much look forward to working alongside the ECL family.”

In a further statement to announce the Cypriot partnership, Weston said “I have been learning about the Cyprus cricket landscape from Muhammad and his board. It feels like a place perfect for cricket to grow, develop and thrive all year round,”

“The opportunity has now arrived for their Cypriot Champions to play on a global stage at the ECL. I know this will immediately and permanently ignite the Cyprus domestic structure and will take the promotion of the sport in country to the next level too.”

The announcement follows in the wake of the addition fellow Southern European nations Croatia and Greece to the ECL roster for 2022 and beyond.

The 2019 edition of the ECL saw 8 champion teams from 8 nations in action across 17 T10 games. The planned 2020 edition would have seen 16 teams from 15 European nations involved, but the tournament was later cancelled as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. The 2021 edition will see the same 15 nations represented, with the newly announced nations being represented from 2022 onwards.

Keep up with the European Cricket League and the emerging game through our Facebook and Twitter pages.

Looking for audio content on the emerging game? Add the Emerging Cricket Podcast to your favourites on AppleSpotify and Podbean.

Want extra Emerging Cricket content? Contribute to the Emerging Cricket Patreon cause from as little as $2 a month. Sign up here!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

11 + 8 =