Uganda Women’s Elite Cricket League squads announced

Isaac Lockett reports on the Uganda Women's Elite League

Uganda Team huddle before the match, 1st Play-off Semi-Final, ICC Women's World Twenty20 Qualifier at Utrecht, Jul 12th 2018. (Photo: ICC)

Following the country’s successful Men’s Elite Cricket League, the Uganda Cricket Association has announced the squads that will be competing during the Women’s Elite Cricket League. The tournament is scheduled to run December 11-14 with the games being held at the Lugogo Cricket Oval in Kampala. The tournament will see two squads of 15, comprised of Uganda’s finest talent, compete across five T20 matches. 

Uganda team huddle before the match, 1st Play-off Semi-Final, ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier at Utrecht, Jul 12th 2018. (Photo: ICC)

When talking about the tournament, Franklin Najjumba, the UCA women’s development officer, was quoted by NewVision as stating that ‘The purpose of this tournament is to prepare for a long 2021 international season. Some of our best players are in candidate classes and therefore might miss out on selection for the international games because they have to sit their final exams next year … We intend to use this tournament to expose many players to competitive cricket so that we have a big enough squad that can sustain our international engagements next year’. 

Due to the effects of the ongoing pandemic, the Uganda Cricket Association has taken precautionary measures to ensure the safety of the players and officials. All of the players competing in the league will undergo COVID-19 tests before entering a residential camp where they will stay for the duration of the event. Alongside the testing, fans will be unable to watch the event live. 

Aziz Damani Hurricanes squad

Barbara Mukankusi, Rachel Ntono, Shubeika Naigaga, Naomi Kayondo (vice-captain), Clare Mushakamba, Shakira Saddick, Janet Nakiranda, Maria Nyende, Christine Anayo, Immaculate Nakisuyi (captain), Evelyn Anyipo, Patricia Malemekia, Lynette Nakato, Consy Aweko, Teddy Ayella.

Challenger Blizzards squad

Damalie Busingye, Leona Babirye, Jennifer Nabwana, Janet Mbabazi (vice-captain), Rita Musamali, Kevin Awino (captain), Stephanie Nampiina, Agnes Abigaba, Esther Kayaga, Carol Namugenyi, Eunice Kobusingye, Irene Alumo, Sarah Walaza, Hope Wanichan, Brenda Nabisalu.

You’re reading Emerging Cricket — brought to you by a passionate group of volunteers with a vision for cricket to be a truly global sport, and a mission to inspire passion to grow the game.

Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, please subscribe for regular updates, and follow EC on TwitterFacebookLinkedIn and YouTube.

Don’t know where to start? Check out our features listcountry profiles, and subscribe to our podcast.

Support us from US$2 a month — and get exclusive benefits, by becoming an EC Patron.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

sixteen + four =