Three new ICC Members, Russia suspended, Zambia terminated

Mongolia, Switzerland and Tajikistan all join the Associate Member ranks of the ICC, while Russia has been suspended.

ICC Members, ICC Building

Mongolia and Tajikistan have become cricket’s newest ICC Members, with Switzerland readmitted after the international governing body’s Annual General Meeting was held today.

The 78th Annual General Meeting of the council was conducted virtually, ending a nine-year wait for Switzerland after an expulsion in 2012. Mongolia and Tajikistan’s national governing bodies were established in 2007 and 2011 respectively, with the pair meeting criteria for admittance following their applications.

ICC General Manager of Development William Glenwright expressed his elation with the news, as the game looks to grow both in the midst and the aftermath of a global pandemic.

“We are delighted to be welcoming three new Members into the ICC family, which reflects the growth and potential of the global game.

“All three applications demonstrated an impressive commitment to growing the game – particularly amongst women and youth – and we look forward to assisting them in achieving their potential. 

“As cricket activity begins to emerge from the pandemic, we are at an exciting stage of cricket’s growth with ambitious plans and projects to deliver in partnership with our Members to not only navigate the impact of COVID-19 but to also help achieve transformative growth for the sport globally.”

On the other side, Zambia’s Membership has been terminated, with Russia suspended and given a year’s notice to “demonstrate compliance or risk having its membership of ICC terminated with immediate effect.”

Zambia were suspended in 2019 and have been removed due to “continued non-compliance” to amend multiple breaches of the ICC’s Membership Criteria, relating to general competence and an acceptable detailed governance system. They join Morocco, Cuba, Brunei and Tonga as nations to have their memberships revoked. 

The ICC now comprises 106 Members and 94 Associates following the meeting with Mongolia and Tajikistan joining as the 22nd and 23rd Members of the Asia region, and Switzerland as Europe’s 35th Member.

Official statement on the new ICC Members here.

You’re reading Emerging Cricket — brought to you by a passionate group of volunteers with a vision for cricket to be a truly global sport, and a mission to inspire passion to grow the game.

Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, please subscribe for regular updates, and follow EC on TwitterFacebookLinkedIn and YouTube.

Don’t know where to start? Check out our features listcountry profiles, and subscribe to our podcast.

Support us from US$2 a month — and get exclusive benefits, by becoming an EC Patron.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

14 + 5 =