Nepal: Lumbini Province and APF remain unbeaten, secure their spot at PM Cup semis

The Lumbini Province, eyeing to continue their victory march from Day 1, played against the Karnali Province in the first match of Sunday’s PM Cup Women’s National Women’s Cricket Tournament action.

The toss was delayed due to foggy weather conditions, resulting in a reduced match of 13 overs each. The Karnali Province, after winning the toss and electing to bat first, scored a total of 34 runs losing six wickets in their 13 overs. None of their batters reached double digits once again, Dikshya Puri’s 8 being the top score. Lumbini’s skipper Nary Thapa scalped two wickets for 13 while Sarita GC and Gita Goshai each picked up one wicket for their side. Two of the batters for Karnali Province were run out.

Spirit of the game between Karnali Province (G) and Lumbini Province (R).

Chasing the minnow target of just 35 runs, opener Gita Goshai (4) was dismissed by Anju Gurung LBW. With Nary unbeaten on nine runs and Saraswati on three, Lumbini reached their target in just 3.1 overs, winning the match by nine wickets.

Skipper of the Lumbini Province, Nary Thapa bags her Player of the Match award. Photo: CAN

In the second match of the day, the defending champions APF played against Province Number Two. Winning the toss and deciding to bat first, Province Two finished on 72 for 8 from their allotted overs. Openers, Sobha Ale accumulated 13 while Anuradha Chaudhary scored 18 before being run out by Karuna Bhandari. Apart from these two, none of their players managed to get out of single figures. APF Captain Sita Rana Magar shined through her bowling with 2 for 14. Karuna Bhandari, Rekha Rawal, Ishwori Bist and Rajmati Airee, all picked up one wicket each. 

Chasing 73 for victory, the APF continued their victory run, reaching the target losing only the two wickets in 13.1 overs. Sita Rana Magar batted for 18 off 30 before being bowled by Kabita Gautam. Jyoti Pandey was in formidable form scoring 30 from 39 before being dismissed LBW by opposing captain Saraswari Kumari, with only four runs required. Sarita Magar hit the winning run and stayed unbeaten for nine, chasing the target with 41 balls to spare. Sita Rana Magar once again bagged the Player of the Match award. 

Back to back Player of the Match award for APF skipper Sita Rana Magar. Photo: CAN

With two straight wins in Group A, Lumbini Province and the APF have secured their spot in the semis. The two teams will battle each other in the next match to stay on top of the table while Province Two and Karnali Province, after losing both of their matches, are out of the tournament with still a match to face each other.

You’re reading Emerging Cricket — brought to you by a passionate group of volunteers with a vision for cricket to be a truly global sport, and a mission to inspire passion to grow the game.

Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, please subscribe for regular updates, and follow EC on TwitterFacebookLinkedIn and YouTube.

Don’t know where to start? Check out our features listcountry profiles, and subscribe to our podcast.

Support us from US$2 a month — and get exclusive benefits, by becoming an EC Patron.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

6 − 4 =