Nepal announces preliminary squad of 32 for CWC League 2 Oman tour

The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has announced the names of 32 cricketers who will join a closed camp for the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup League Two ODI tri-series in March when the men’s side will face off against hosts Oman, and USA.

The selection committee of CAN, in coordination with the newly appointed head coach Dav Whatmore, has named a number of fresh faces too; with those who excelled and showcased their potential in the recently held Prime Minister’s Cup National Cricket Tournament being rewarded with squad berths.

Prithu Baskota, who had been out of the national radar for the past few years has been invited for the national closed camp this time. He was the leading run-getter in the PM Cup and was awarded best batter of the tournament. 

Similarly, Bibek Yadav, the emerging player from the national tournament has got a senior national call for the first time. He had previously represented Nepal at the youth ODI level when the Nepal U19 team visited India for the U19 Challengers Trophy in 2019. Arjun Kumal, the 15-year-old prodigy from Gandaki Province who gained everyone’s attention in the national tournament has also grabbed a spot in the national closed camp.

Likewise, Anuj Chunara from Karnali Province who had taken 8 wickets in four matches with an economy of 4.39 averaging 16.37 in the nationals has received his maiden national call without previously representing Nepal at any age level. It is also going to be the first senior breakthrough for Khadak Bohara who has represented Nepal at the U19 level. 

Saurav Khanal, Ram Naresh Giri, and Krishna Karki will also participate in the national training camp after a long gap. Saurav Khanal, leading Lumbini Province, scored 182 runs with two half-centuries in four matches with an average of 60.66 in the tournament. All three have already represented Nepal at under-age levels. 

Sunil Dhamala, who scored 190 runs with a century against Lumbini province will also be a part of the national training camp. He has not been a part of the national cricket team since his debut home series against Kenya in the ICC World Cricket League Championship in 2017. Subash Khakurel and Kishor Mahato, who were reserve players in the previous home tri-series have not been included in the squad.

Among 32 members, the fourteen cricketers who were in the Nepalese squad for the previous tri-series have all been included. 

Full squad*: Prithu Baskota, Saurabh Khanal, Bikram Sob, Rajesh Pulami, Rohit Paudel, Shahab Alam, Sushan Bhari, Sandeep Jora, Kamal Singh Airee, Asif Sheikh, Sunil Dhamala, Kushal Bhurtel, Lalit Rajbanshi, Hari Shankar Shah, Bibek Yadav, Ram Naresh Giri, Arjun Kumal, Krishna Karki, Khadak Bohara, Anuj Chunara, Pawan Sarraf, Sharad Veshawkar, Aarif Sheikh, Abinash Bohara, Dipendra Singh Airee, Sompal Kami, Kushal Malla, Karan KC, Sandeep Lamichhane, Binod Bhandari, Paras Khadka, Gyanendra Malla

*Players in italics will join the first phase of the national camp commencing from the 6th of February (Saturday). 

The 14-men squad of the previous CWCL2 home tri-series: Gyanendra Malla (captain), Dipendra Singh Airee (vice-captain), Paras Khadka, Sandeep Lamichhane, Karan KC, Md. Aarif Sheikh, Binod Bhandari, Abinash Bohara, Kushal Malla, Kamal Singh Airee, Sushan Bhari, Rohit Kumar Paudel, Sharad Vesawkar, Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi

You’re reading Emerging Cricket — brought to you by a passionate group of volunteers with a vision for cricket to be a truly global sport, and a mission to inspire passion to grow the game.

Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, please subscribe for regular updates, and follow EC on TwitterFacebookLinkedIn and YouTube.

Don’t know where to start? Check out our features listcountry profiles, and subscribe to our podcast.

Support us from US$2 a month — and get exclusive benefits, by becoming an EC Patron.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

four × 2 =