Kathmandu Mayor’s Cup provides another opportunity for Nepal cricketers

The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has announced the 50-Over Kathmandu Mayor’s Cup (Men’s), to be held in the capital in March 2021. The Cup comes on the back of a successful ten-team Prime Minister’s Cup (PM Cup), held in January 2021.

The four semi-finalists of the PM Cup, Tribhuwan Army Club, Armed Police Club, Nepal Police Club, and Bagmati province will be joined by a new team called Kathmandu Metropolitan City. The new team will be composed of players from the remaining six provinces.

The Kathmandu Mayor’s Cup will be held at the TU International Ground and the Mulpani Ground, and will take place over the course of a week, 6th to 13th of March. This latest announcement comes soon after the completion of the second phase of the national training closed camp on Tuesday.  

Earlier this month, CAN signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with Kathmandu Metropolitan City, through which KMC agreed to support CAN with a grant of NRs 5 Million (Around $ 43,141), to host the tournament. 

MoU Signing Ceremony between the CAN and Kathmandu Metropoliton City. Photo: CAN

The Kathmandu Mayor’s Cup is offers Nepal’s best cricketers another opportunity to impress new coach, Dav Whatmore, whilst also getting crucial time in the middle ahead of a busy international calendar.

Should international associate cricket return to normal any time soon, that is. Nepal’s last two international assignments, a bilateral T20I series against Qatar, and the CWC League 2 fixtures in Oman against the hosts and USA were postponed earlier this year. Nepal’s next international series is the CWC League 2 tri-series in July 2021, when the team will travel to Scotland to play against the hosts and Namibia.

PM Cup semi-finalists and their squads: 

Tribhuwan Army Club: Binod Bhandari (c), Anil Mandal, Raju Rijal, Rohit Kumar Poudel, Bhim Sarki, Rajesh Pulami, Hari Bahadur Chauhan, Vikram Sob, Aakash Chand, Sushan Bhari, Sahab Alam, Hari Krishna Jha, Lokesh Bam and Jitendra Mukhiya.

Armed Police Force: Sharad Veshawkar (c), Basanta Regmi, Subash Khakurel, Shankar Rana, Pradeep Airee, Sandeep Jora, Kamal Singh Airee, Sumit Maharjan, Rit Gautam, Kishor Mahato, Bhuwan Karki, Aasif Sheikh, Amar Singh Rautela, Surya Tamang, and Abinash Bohara 

Bagmati Province: Gyanendra Malla (c), Paras Khadka, Prithu Baskota, Ishan Pandey, Ram Naresh Giri, Dipesh Shrestha, Aakash Thapa, Adil Khan, Bibhatsu Thapa, Gautam KC, Ario Poudel, Tilak Raj Bhandari, Bipin Acharya, and Nandan Yadav

Nepal Police Club: Manjit Shrestha (cap), Dilip Nath, Kushal Bhurtel, Anil Shah, Amit Shrestha, Dipendra Singh Airee, Aarif Sheikh, Sunil Dhamla, Sagar Dhakal, Lalit Rajbanshi, Rashid Khan, Prem Tamang, Pawan Sarraf, and Yogendra Karki

You’re reading Emerging Cricket — brought to you by a passionate group of volunteers with a vision for cricket to be a truly global sport, and a mission to inspire passion to grow the game.

Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, please subscribe for regular updates, and follow EC on TwitterFacebookLinkedIn and YouTube.

Don’t know where to start? Check out our features listcountry profiles, and subscribe to our podcast.

Support us from US$2 a month — and get exclusive benefits, by becoming an EC Patron.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

2 × 5 =