Indonesia and Rwanda set to make their ICC World Cup debuts

Rwanda U19 Women's Team
Rwanda U19 Women's Team

Qualification has wrapped up for the inaugural U19 ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup with Rwanda clinching the final spot courtesy of their victory in the recently concluded African qualifier. Playing against Tanzania, another cricket success story in the East African region, the U19 Rwandan Ladies secured a fairly comfortable victory chasing down the target of 85 runs with 6 wickets to spare.

Rwandan allrounder and Fairbreak Global participant Henriette Ishimwe starred with both bat and ball, scoring 17 not out and taking two wickets for seven runs. She was backed up by a sensational bowling performance from Belyse Murekatete and Rosine Irera; their combined five wickets restricting the Tanzanians to a modest total of 84.

With Rwanda’s victory, it confirms the final participants for the eagerly anticipated U19 Women’s World Cup in 2023. Indonesia who beat Papua New Guinea to qualify from the East Asia Pacific region will be Rwanda’s fellow debutantes at an ICC World Cup event.

Indonesia U19 Women's Team
Indonesia U19 Women’s Team qualify for the 2023 U19 Women’s T20 World Cup by defeating PNG (Photo: ICC)

The final sixteen teams for the World Cup (to be hosted by South Africa) will consist of automatic qualifiers Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe and United States of America; alongside regional qualifiers UAE, Indonesia, Scotland and Rwanda.

ICC Women’s Under-19 T20 World Cup Qualification Pathway

While there’s a lot of room for improvement in it’s qualification structure, the Under-19 pathway event is a massively beneficial investment in women’s cricket. It gives an additional outlet for talented young women cricketers around the globe to showcase their skills at an international level and also provides valuable game experiences to budding youth cricketers hoping to make their transition to the senior team.

Furthermore, with the growing strength of depth in African women’s cricket, reasonable arguments can be put forward to award Africa with two qualification slots instead of one. Or have the 2nd African finisher playoff with the ICC Americas region to determine the final participant.

You’re reading Emerging Cricket — brought to you by a passionate group of volunteers with a vision for cricket to be a truly global sport, and a mission to inspire passion to grow the game.

Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, please subscribe for regular updates, and follow EC on TwitterFacebookLinkedIn and YouTube.

Don’t know where to start? Check out our features listcountry profiles, and subscribe to our podcast.

Support us from US$2 a month — and get exclusive benefits, by becoming an EC Patron.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

five × 4 =