Netherlands put forward T20 World Cup Qualifier group


The Dutch selectors sprang a surprise on Sunday when they announced their squad for the World T20 qualifier in Zimbabwe, starting on 11 July: the list of 15 names included that of left-handed opener Steph Myburgh, who had retired from the longer white-ball cricket in April.

The move will delight those who enjoyed Myburgh’s farewell ODI innings against New Zealand in Hamilton, where he hammered a 43-ball 64, 58 of those runs coming from 13 fours and a six.

Myburgh has a strike rate of 116.31 from his 34 T20I innings, and will add significant hitting power to a Dutch top order which also includes Max O’Dowd, Vikram Singh, Tom Cooper and wicket-keeper Scott Edwards, who has taken over the captaincy of the side from Pieter Seelaar.

Bas de Leede at the last T20 World Cup (Getty)

The squad also includes Teja Nidamanuru, who made his international debut against the West Indies last month, posting a half-century in his maiden ODI innings. There is, however, no place for Wesley Barresi, another retiree who has signalled his availability for a return.

There is a recall for Brandon Glover of Northamptonshire, one of three county-contracted pace men along with Fred Klaassen (Kent) and Paul van Meekeren (Gloucestershire).

The five-man pace unit is completed by all-rounders Bas de Leede and Logan van Beek.

Edwards’ spin options will include leg-spinners Philippe Boissevain and Shariz Ahmad, the orthodox left-arm spin of Tim Pringle and the off-breaks of Aryan Dutt, backed up if necessary by the occasional bowling of Cooper and O’Dowd.

The Dutch will face group matches against Papua New Guinea (11 July), Hong Kong (12 July) and Uganda (14 July), and will if they finish in the top two of the group need to win a semi-final against one of hosts Zimbabwe, Singapore, Jersey or the United States in order to reach the T20 World Cup tournament in Australia later in the year.

Full squad: Scott Edwards (c), Shariz Ahmed, Logan van Beek, Philippe Boissevain, Tom Cooper, Aryan Dutt, Brandon Glover, Fred Klaassen, Bas de Leede, Paul van Meekeren, Stephan Myburgh, Teja Nidamanuru, Tim Pringle, Max O’Dowd, Vikramjit Singh.

Feature picture credit: Sander Tholen

You’re reading Emerging Cricket — brought to you by a passionate group of volunteers with a vision for cricket to be a truly global sport, and a mission to inspire passion to grow the game.

Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, please subscribe for regular updates, and follow EC on TwitterFacebookLinkedIn and YouTube.

Don’t know where to start? Check out our features listcountry profiles, and subscribe to our podcast.

Support us from US$2 a month — and get exclusive benefits, by becoming an EC Patron.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

10 − 8 =