Afridi, Duminy, Tahir added to Slam roster, registrations open for overseas players

Reserve prices $20,000-$80,000 for overseas players. Local players to be selected by home boards.

Overnight it was announced that registrations for overseas players wanting to be drafted for the inaugural Euro T20 Slam are open.

Interested players must select a USD reserve price from the five options online; $80,000, $65,000, $50,000, $35,000 and $20,000.

After being major signings for the aborted UAE T20x concept both former Irish international Eoin Morgan and AB de Villiers were both linked to the Slam by Tim Wigmore over the weekend.

While no parties have confirmed the reports the article was shared by the Slam’s Twitter account.

Shane Watson, Brendon McCullum and Rashid Khan were named as icon players at the event’s launch in late May and Shahid Afridi was announced as the Slam’s fourth headline star last week.

McCullum’s “bash brother” Chris Lynn, Luke Ronchi and Babar Asam were revealed as marquee players during the May 30 launch in Dublin and since then, JP Duminy and his South African team mate Imran Tahir have been added to the Slam’s overseas roster.

Outside the two icon players and one marquee still to be announced, the overseas player draft event will take place in the coming weeks, and is open only to International cricketers, excluding players from Ireland, Scotland and The Netherlands.

With an icon and marquee overseas player to be appointed by teams before the draft this will leave 30 slots in the draft across the franchises. A reserved Associate place among each squad’s overseas quota of seven had been indicated to Emerging Cricket, but this has not been confirmed as yet.

As it stands, local players (i.e. eligible/qualified players of the three nations) will be distributed among each country’s two teams by the home board.

The inaugural Euro T20 Slam will be staged in the Netherlands, Ireland and Scotland in late August and September, with six teams to play 33 matches, including the final on September 22.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

twenty − twenty =