Koninklijke Nederlandse Cricket Bond
(Royal Dutch Cricket Federation)


Former Sri Lankan international Tony Opatha dies

Tony Opatha, the former Sri Lankan seam bowler who died on Friday at the age of 73, played a significant part in...

‘T20, Jim, but not as we know it’ – Dutch T20 Cup finals day report

If you’re the kind of Twenty20 enthusiast who believes that the short format is only about massive sixes, shots of spectacular inventiveness...

A ‘Test’ by any other name would smell as sweet?

It’s fourteen years since Dave Richardson, then ICC general manager, floated an imaginative scheme for a three-tier, 20-team structure for Test cricket.

Cricket: lost in translation?

As cricket seeks to extend its reach to wider communities, to expand in countries where English is not the first language, the...

Associate player roundup from Round 4 of the Bob Willis Trophy

The final round of the Bob Willis Trophy before a break in the schedule, due to the Vitality Blast starting on the...

CWC Super League: Impure, not impotent

“We construct a philosophy of failure, which finds in defeat a form of justification and a proof of the purity of our...

Dutch T20 Cup match ends in conflict

A violent incident in a Dutch T20 Cup match between Hoofdklasse side Hermes-DVS and Topklasse team Punjab in Schiedam on Friday evening...

Curtailed Dutch Pro Series finishes under cloudy skies with two more Seafarers wins

The 2020 Pro Series ended on a somewhat anticlimactic note on Thursday, with the Seafarers winning their second T20 against the Hurricanes...

Associate player roundup from Round 3 of the Bob Willis Trophy

Round three of the Bob Willis Trophy means that the English counties are around the halfway mark in the competition. With there...

Cooper, Braat star in Dutch Pro Series’ first week

Back when I was taking part in my school’s cross-country running programme, sixty years ago, the master in charge used to claim...

Associate player roundup from Round 2 of the Bob Willis Trophy

With the second round of fixtures of the Bob Willis Trophy concluding, there is another opportunity to look at the performances of...

ODI Super League: the format’s saviour?

Let’s do an experiment. Looking back at the last five years, how many classic Full Member ODI series can...








AS AT AUG 2020


One of the few countries with a long, continuous cricket tradition, the Netherlands has been a presence in the game since the nineteenth century. Building at first on the ‘Corinthian’ spirit of gentlemanly amateur sport, Dutch cricketers toured England at regular intervals and frequently entertained clubs like MCC and the Free Foresters.

International teams touring England also played in the Netherlands, Bobby Simpson’s Australians suffering a notable defeat in 1964. Horizons widened after the Netherlands joined the ICC, and Dutch sides toured a range of Full Member countries in the 1980s and 1990s, as well as taking part in the ICC trophy. Clubs were allowed to hire a player-coach from 1979 onwards, and soon afterwards the domestic competitions moved to ODI rules.

Standards improved, and in the late 1990s the first turf squares were laid. More recently, the national men’s side has depended to a significant degree on players from the Dutch diaspora in Australia, New Zealand and South Africa, although the KNCB is working to introduce more home-produced international cricketers.


First men’s international match: vs. Rambling Britons, Clingendaal, 22 August 1891

Major international victories:
vs. Australia, Den Haag, 1964 (one-day friendly)
vs. Namibia, Toronto, 2001 (ICC Trophy final)
vs. England, Lord’s, 2009 (World T20 championship)
vs. England, Chittagong, 2014 (World T20 championship)

Leading men’s international players: Carstjan Posthuma (1891-1913), Ernst Vriens (1952-72), Steven Lubbers (1972-96), Roland Lefebvre (1983-2003), Tim de Leede (1990-2007), Ryan ten Doeschate (2005- ), Peter Borren (2006-18), Mudassar Bukhari (2007-16).

WCL History: Division 1 2007 (3); WCQ 2009 (3); Division 1 2010 (4); Championship 2011-13 (4); WCQ 2014 (7); Division 2 2015 (1); Championship 2015-17 (1); WCQ 2018 (7).

World Cup appearances: ODI: 1996, 2003, 2007, 2011; T20: 2009, 2014, 2016, and qualified for 2020 which is postponed until 2021.


First women’s international match: vs. Australia, Overveen, 1937

Leading women’s international players: Pauline te Beest (1990-2008), Caroline Salomons (1995-2012), Helmien Rambaldo (1998-2017), Esther de Lange (2005-16).

World Cup appearances: (4): ODI 1988/98 (5), 1993 (8), 1997/98 (QF), 2000/01 (8)

Principal Grounds

De Diepput, Den Haag (no longer used for international matches)

Spanjaaardslaan, Haarlem (no longer used for cricket)

VRA Ground, Amstelveen

Hazelaarweg, Rotterdam

Westvliet, Voorburg

Het Schootsveld, Deventer

KNCB Links

Originally compiled by

Rod Lyall

Latest EC Podcasts

Latest articles

EC Cricket Calendar

Thanks to the dedicated work of EC patron Ben Stinga, we've compiled this simple emerging cricket calendar so you can track the...

Jersey Fairway Super Series: Matchday 1 round-up

Sunday saw Jersey’s young cricketers take to FB Fields as the Fairway Super Series got underway. Each of the four teams played...

Bulgaria set to host Malta for men’s T20 series

The Malta national men's team visit Bulgaria this week to play eight T20 matches against their hosts between 23 and 29 September....

Uruguay’s greatest football club Peñarol rediscovers cricket roots

Life has come full circle for cricket at Club Atlético Peñarol in Uruguay. It is an extraordinary development...

Support EC

Follow us



Sign up for weekly updates.